I am finding that working on this black work panel is going to take much more time than I expected. I completed the motifs and just started with border pattern. It is small, still will take a while to work on both sides. I‘ll take a picture once these borders is completed. Another small border needs to be worked on either side after the completion of these borders.

Seeing that this project will take some time to work, I decided to start on the mirror work yoke. Starting with some kutchwork motifs.

WIPW51-blmirt-2

WIPW51-blmirt-2

I have been seeing some kalamkari patches which are used on sarees, tunics. Kalamkari work is from Andhra Pradesh, India. In this work, vegetable dyes are used to paint designs on handloom fabric. I have seen artisans painting once. The intricate designs, arrangements, movements elevates this into a fine art form. The inspirations are from sculptures. I feel they are two dimensional sculptures.  For more details google search is the apt place to look for them. Key words- kalamkari designs. These past few days I have been inspired by them, and have been studying to use them for embroidery. by sharing on this post, I committing myself to work further on this subject. Will come back with more details of this project on my next post.

