This is the first time, I am designing a hussif. I have not designed any fabric piece before. This is a small hussif-12 by 8 inches. Let me start with simple steps. The encrusted crazy quilting class lessons are very useful. That’s reason, I am working crazy quilting this hussif, to practice. I have not made any arrangement for my sewing machine. This hussif is pieced by hand!
The block-

wip Wednesdays-hussif1

wip Wednesdays-hussif1

I am learning new things on my sumptuous surfaces class. This week’s TAST stitch sampler is growing very slowly.

I worked a floral spray on this block, the beads will come later. I started with rope stitch for the stem, berry stitches for the big leaves, detached chains for the smaller leaves, satin stitch for the flower and ended the spray with straight stitches along the stem. The seam is made of buttonhole stitches and detached chain stitches.

wip Wednesdays-floralspray and seam1

wip Wednesdays-floralspray and seam1

you can see others progress on SharonB’s blog.

