I have not been regular with my posts this year. Especially about my embroidered tunics.
I have a fondness for handloom cotton fabrics from India. And I work ethnic Indian embroidery on them. Sometimes I also get inspired and work on a particular idea. This is one such project.
I had a maroon cotton fabric with beige stripes. Being a sucker for traditional silk combinations, a black fabric was chosen for embroidery. Novelty antique gold beads and sequins were used for embellishments. Maroon and beige colour threads were used for embroidery.
The tunic-

maroon and black tunic

maroon and black tunic

The simple geometrical shapes were worked in back stitch with red thread, and the lines were worked in chain stitch with beige thread. Cotton skeins were used for the embroidery. The yoke-

maroon and black-yoke

maroon and black-yoke

The yoke pattern-

maroon and black-yoke pattern

maroon and black-yoke pattern

The sleeves had additional motif border in the centre which was worked with variegated thread.

maroon andblacksleeve and yoke

maroon andblacksleeve and yoke

The sleeve pattern-

maroon and black-sleeve pattern

maroon and black-sleeve pattern

I wanted to do simple embroidery on this tunic, but this pattern can be used for more embellished work too. This pattern was just a small idea which I wanted to explore with beads. This pattern or embroidery cannot be categorized  into any type.

