This was an exhibit that was part of the textiles at Burrell collection, Glasgow, Scotland. We were on a short visit.
There were these mirrors with embroidered frames. I think the embroidery was done on satin silk and never have I seen or read anything like that before. I was quite enchanted with it.
The top portion of the mirror-

Burrell collection-emb on mirror1

Burrell collection-emb on mirror1

Castle, plants, animals, trees and people were all embroidered on to this.

Burrell collection-emb on mirror2

Burrell collection-emb on mirror2

The bottom part of the mirror, which also had animals, garden and plants.

Burrell collection-emb on mirror3

Burrell collection-emb on mirror3

Another view of the same mirror.
This definitely inspired me, now all I need is the motivation!

