I am still in the journey of combining the woven detached chain stitches with other stitches to form stitch motif patterns. After working on them ,I completed this sampler here.

10.58.woven detached chain st-sampler3

10.58.woven detached chain st-sampler3

8. These motifs were done with Woven detached chain stitches and- woven wheel, Algerian eye variation, French knots.

10.58.w d chainst-8

10.58.w d chainst-8

9.The first motif was worked with sailor stitch combination, the second motif with buttonhole wheel cup and the third motif with pistil stitches and in the last motif I worked two more chain stitches over the woven detached chain.

10.58.w d chainst-9

10.58.w d chainst-9

In the first piece, I tried this stitch with sheaf stitch to experiment this as filling stitch. The second one is worked with Italian border stitch. The top one of the last sample is laced with rimjim thread. Then I tried working this woven detached chain stitches over a piece of lace in the last one.

10.58.w d chainst-10

10.58.w d chainst-10

The whole sampler-

10.58.woven detached chain st- sampler

10.58.woven detached chain st- sampler

This stitch is an easier way adding decorative element to seams. Though Sharon suggested this stitch will be useful for working leaves, I did not try this as leaf, mainly because I wanted to work some motifs. I had good practice of this stitch in this sampler. And it was fun experimenting with it as Pamela pointed out.

