The 40th week stitch of the TAST 2012 challenge by SharonB is beaded hedebo stitch. I have not done this stitch before. When it was part of the earlier TAST challenge, I skipped over it, thinking it was too complicated. This time I cannot repeat the same thing. So started learning it. Worked this stitch with cone thread on even weave fabric. The thread was thick and it required a big needle, the beads were added after working the stitches.
Today I worked four lines on the sampler cloth-

40.beaded hedebo stitch sampler1

The details-
1. I tried this stitch in this first row, I don’t know why the stitch  keeps curling! [maybe too much tension?]

40.behedst-1

2. Alternate stitches are worked on square crosses, which narrows them a little bit.

40.behedst-2

3. Two hedebo stitches are worked together in the first row, and wide stitches are worked with three beads in between in the second row.

40.behedst-3

Hope I get more ideas for variations . This stitch takes some time to work though!

