I had seen some tunics with all over embroidery or print on the yoke and the sleeves. This idea of designing big yoke and sleeves was there for quite some time. When I found this lemon yellow linen fabric, the first thought was the number of colours which can be used on this. Then the idea of working a big yoke and sleeves came from that. Using many colours had its own appeal.
The pattern was combination of wide borders. For this I took the inspiration from both African and Indian ethnic designs. I used three strands of cotton skeins to embroider these bold border patterns.
Copying this design on to the fabric was not easy. For the yoke alone I had to use four carbon papers. The base colour being lemon yellow, using white carbon was not an option. I used red and green carbon, which left blotches of colour all over the fabric.
for this kind of tracing the best option is the method used by commercial embroiderers.
Another option is, use a glass table top, place the pattern on it, position the fabric over the pattern, have a light bulb underneath the table, start drawing with a water soluble pen. Choose the colour appropriate for the fabric. this option works good for linen.
I ‘ll start with the details of the embroidery from the next post.

