I don’t remember where I got the inspiration for this mirror work idea.
The idea- to work the mirrors in the same shade of the fabric ,on a traditional Indian motif pattern .
Choosing colours was not a big thing.the tunic fabric was peach colour mercerized cotton. The mirrors were to be worked in this colour thread. Another choice of colour was beige, the filling was worked in darker shade of peach in silk thread.
The motif was made with floral mirrors. When I was working on this yoke I did not take pictures at all stages. So this picture shows – the outlines of the floral mirror in light peach, the creepers worked in gold colour silk thread, the shapes filled in herring bone stitches in dark peach colour silk thread-

peach mirrorwork yoke-WIP

Completed embroidery on my next post.

