I have come back from Chennai vacation. Too many activities in two weeks. Did not have time to post any new pictures too.
I have seen a few samples of lagartera embroidery on net. The original work Iam yet to see.then found a book of lagartera embroidery, from that deduced that it can be worked on even weave,consists of satin stitch, cross stitch and back stitch.With this background information, I wanted to work this embroidery.
At this time someone wanted me to embroider a border on blouse [saree] sleeves. She
chose the colours, and agreed to my suggestion of lagartera embroidery .
The blouse material was handloom cotton in dark orange and did not have even weave.
So the patternwas drawn on graphand copied with white carbon paper on to the fabric.
The pattern and the first colour[green]-

lagartera blouse-detail 1

 
Further details on my next post.

 

